Reset Robot – Redskin

Label: Whistleblower

Artist: Reset Robot
Title: Redskin
Release Date: 22nd of February 2016
Format: Digital
CAT#: WBR009

01. Redskin
02. Funk
03. Umpaalow
04. Lolly Pop
05. Ha Pow
06. Yea Yea Yea

Whistleblower is a label founded by three music producing friends; Alan Fitzpatrick, Reset Robot and Rhymos, whose roots lie in the close-knit electronic music scenes of Southampton and Portsmouth on the UK’s South Coast.
The labels last release was Alan Fitzpatrick’s “Tribe” which topped Beatport sales charts and crossed genres getting set lists and support by everyone from Marcel Dettmann to Maya Jane Coles. Highly anticipated, the labels follow up release comes from Reset Robot who many will recognise from his releases on Adam Beyer’s label Truesoul and Sven Väth’s label Cocoon. Featuring six original tracks varying between Deep Techno and Tech House, Dave Robertson (Reset Robot) shows off his broad taste and production style with this mini LP that won’t disappoint fans of his music. The first track titled “Redskin” is Deep Techno that has the looped chords of an ethereal pad to create a sense of epic drama. Adding to the drama with a string sound and snare rolls, the track is stripped back and hypnotic. Track two titled “Funk” has a spacious mix filed with a dark atmosphere created by textured effects and mechanical percussion. Brought to life with a grinding lead synth and a dream like melody, the track is both melodic and mysterious. Third up is “Umpaalow” with has a distinctive lead synth that takes clear influences from Dub Techno and acts like Basic Channel. Fourth on the release is “Lolly Pop” which has a lead synth programmed to sound like chimes that cuts through the mix with crystal clarity. Combined with heavy hand claps and flickering hi hat, it’s a fine example of how less can be more. Second to last is track five titled “Ha Pow.” Starting with the distant shimmer of an eerie synth part that lines the back of the mix, the track is slow building. The hook here is the introduction of a modulated vocal sample, which Dave sung and recorded using his own voice giving it a unique twist. Finishing off the EP is track six titled “Yea Yea Yea” which is less dancefloor focused than the others with experimental, broken rhythms and dramatic piano stabs. Filled with warped and distressed sounds, it stretches to form unusual textures. This is a stunning piece of contemporary music and the perfect track to finish off this mini LP.