Release Empfehlung: VINCENT VEDAT – 69 (SGOL) OUT: 30 SEP 2016

Die Platte grad über Sea Shanty Promotion gehört und is geil. Also wirklich richtig richtig gut. Gibts als 12er ab Ende September bei OYE Records.

Label: SGOL Recordings
Artist: Vincent Vedat
Title: 69
Catalogue number: SGOLEP002
Release Date: 30 September 2016
Formats: 12” vinyl-only release. Available exclusively at Oye Records, Berlin

After impressing with releases like High Times and his Hustle EP, young Berlin talent Vincent Vedat returns with what might be his best release to date. Mixing equal parts sleaze and sensuality, the porn-themed 69 packs in six delicious dalliances into one tidy package.

The title track kicks off in heady fashion with heavy, atmospheric layers, trademark-Vedat replayed samples and throbbing kick drums. Moody Porn follows with a heavily swung, wonky house sound, then the EP builds with GMYM – filled with energetic infectious percussion, rough tape sounds and soulful vocal cuts. Unisex channels classic US garage swing and bump with gorgeous chords giving no need for a bassline and Dreamy Porn steps things up a notch further with hazy vocal samples, detuned bass warbles and sweet synths. Vedat ends with Sweet Agony – pitting heavily distorted electric piano chords against a dulcet vocal refrain – an excellent juxtaposition of a track.

A1: 69
A2: Moody Porn
B1: Unisex
B2: Dreamy Porn
B3: Sweet Agony