Title: Death and Alive
Artist: Various Artist
Label: Jannowitz Records
Cat.Num: Jannowitz058
Releasedate: 18.03.19

Time is passing way too fast. It is unbelievable that five years have already gone by since label head BOHO founded Jannowitz Records back in 2014. We look back on five years full of constant growth, of ups and downs, of good music and even better music.The fifth anniversary is a big deal for us and we have thought a lot about how to celebrate this milestone properly. That’s why we decided to split the EP up into two parts – a world premiere so to speak. Two opportunities to celebrate JAW’s birthday in 2019. Two opportunities to showcase the diverse sound of what the label beholds: Say hello to Alive & Death compilations!Death EP focuses on the darker and harder side of Jannowitz Records. That doesn’t mean that Alive doesn’t feature harder techno tracks, but all in all Death showcases the heavier sounds.It starts off with Ballroom Records‘ favorite AlBird – a good friend of the label and a companion for sears. His track Starling is an absolute tune and the perfect opener for this very strong EP.Next, we have Brazilian superstar Coppola – super young, super cool, super producer with lots of releases and contributions to Jannowitz Records throughout the years. Farewell is as progressive as everything we’ve heard from Coppola on our imprint. Berlin’s Foolik, who you will know as a resident at infamous Sisyphos club has produced what is the slowest of the Death compilation tracks Launch Control. It’s striking in many ways, not only because of the tempo but also because Foolik achieved a rich and contemporary sound that fits perfectly with the rest of the EP. As a contrast, the fourth track Mood 1993 is probably the hardest of them all. Austrian DJs and producers Rabo and Traumata made this beauty of a track that puts you right back into the mood of the 90s rave and trance era. Welcome to the label guys! As you all know, we love our Brazilian JAW crew members. We’ve had many of them on the label with amazing productions. Now it’s time for a new edition: Thiago Monteiro from Campinas likes the dark side of electronic music – just like we do. His track Polar was exactly what we expected of him when we asked him to join the label: dark, dirty and heavy! Similarly heavy, yet more groovy is Behind the Wall by Madtales, the Berlin duo made of KitKat club’s darling Grace Thompson and Ryan Dupree who has released on Stil vor Talent among others. We love Behind the Wall because of its unique muffled vocal that gives it a creepy touch that works perfectly with the screeching synths. And last but not least, PONTE (you might have heard his Jannowitz Podcast) closes the EP with a deep and melodic techno track – check it out!

1 Starling (Original Mix) – Albird
2 Farewell (Original Mix) – Coppola
3 Launch Control (Original Mix) – Foolik
4 Mood 1993 (Original Mix) – Rabo, Traumata
5 Polar (Original Mix) – Thiago Monteiro
6 Behind the Wall (Original Mix) – Madtales
7 Vanity (Original Mix) – PONTE