Girls Of The Internet have been on an unstoppable trajectory over the last few years, with their brand of future facing house and soul music, today they release their sophomore album, ‘GIRLS FM’. The album follows Girls Of The Internet’s signature sound and individuality, with the singles and LP artwork featuring Drag-inspired paintings, by Girls Of The Internet’s main writer and producer, Tom.

2019 saw the group release their debut album ‘SYRUP’, to universal acclaim. Achieving the accolade of being included in BBC Radio 6’s ‘Albums Of The Year’ List, further radio support came from esteemed broadcasters such as Gilles Peterson, Mary Anne Hobbs, Tom Ravenscroft, Mista Jam, Nemone, Lauren Laverne and more recently, Pete Tong. Playing at iconic venues around Europe, Girls Of The Internet has earned key stamps of approval across the board from The Blessed Madonna, Basement Jaxx, Groove Armada, Axel Boman, Nightmares On Wax, Joe Goddard, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Keinemusik, Mark Broom, Detroit Swindle, Tensnake, Horse Meat Disco and José Padilla (R.I.P).

After releasing their debut single on Classic/Defected in 2017, Girls of the Internet made the decision to keep hold of their independence and the rights to their music, joining a long list of successful artists who are taking on the music industry on their own terms.

Across 12 tracks, ‘Girls FM’ tackles the conventions of Disco and House music, dragging it kicking and screaming into the future. Live instrumentation and harmonies are at the core of Girls’ music, each track painstakingly created to evoke emotion and move the listener alongside the melody. Created mainly during 2020’s pandemic lockdown, the tracks have been produced as they were released – the challenge was set working with an array of musicians and vocalists remotely.

Throughout the album, the group have woven a myriad of influences and reference-points into the tracks. Songs such as ‘I Don’t Wanna Lose You’, ‘On My Own’ and ‘Shelter Me From The Storm’ mix together a subtle blend of Garage and soulful R’n’B vocals, whereas ‘Familiar Place’ looks towards a deep rooted love for Smooth Jazz. ‘IDK’ switches up the pace, with a hissing Electronic Funk inflicted session. ‘Time’; another key album single, sees a Dub Techno backing layered with soothing vocals in true Girls’ style.

‘Infinite Harmony’ presents one of the only instrumental tracks on the release, with live piano harmonies centred around an eternal string piece. Latest single ‘Let Go’ is a heart-wrenching, fuzzy Soulful House ballad about getting over troubled times in your life. Further album songs, ‘By My Side’, ‘I Need Protection’, and ‘Falling Through’ all keep true to Girls’ vision of deliberately blurring the lines between electronic and live music.

Breaking from the norm to push the band further than before, Girls of the Internet ultimately present their album as a sign of the times. Moving away from the “Sampling Culture” that has been built in modern electronic music and demonstrating that with you can play every instrument, you can write every song and sing every chord. In a world built on sampling others’, Girls’ proudly create their own sounds.

Girls Of The Internet – ‘Girls FM’ – Tracklist:
2.I Don’t Wanna Lose You
3.Infinite Harmony
4.By My Side
6.Familiar Place
7.Shelter Me From The Storm
9.On My Own
10.I Need Protection
11.Falling Through
12.Let Go